Bildungsroman

So… I’m moving to Berlin. I regard this coming year as the introduction to a more long-term emigration. Despite being my Erasmus year in a 4 year course of German and Music at Liverpool, I have few doubts that I’ll be back on a permanent basis after I graduate. With Brexit and May plunging my generation further and further into debt and unemployment I don’t think there’s much left for me here (family aside of course). Liverpool seems to have made me into a bitter Lefty to say the least.
This year I’ll be working at a Dolmetscherin in the city centre and living in Kreuzberg (contract pending.) Lena and I (my Austrian flatmate and dear friend) visited Berlin last week to secure a roof for August – but that’s a story for another day.
All in all I’m excited to be back in a city, especially Berlin. Home feels so small – everyone knows you – you can’t go anywhere without bumping into someone you know. You can’t even smoke a cigarette without someone’s mum walking past and asking after the family!
After a few more shifts hopefully I’ll have enough to put down my deposit without borrowing from mum. That said I don’t own a single piece of office wear…
Welcome to the real world Connie! 💸

I’m gunna be an IT girl. I’m gunna have it all and I’m gunna take Berlin by storm. I can just feel it! I’m due a break.

Hopefully and nervously yours,
Connie

Leave a Reply

